Skip to main content Skip to footer
Matchups Announced for 2014-15 American Athletic Conference Schedule

UConn won the American Athletic Conference regular season and tournament titles last year.

May 29, 2014

KEY BISCAYNE, Fla. - The American Athletic Conference has announced the women's basketball scheduling model for the 2014-15 and 2015-16 seasons and an 11-team conference championship bracket. 

The league's 11 members will play an 18-game schedule. Each team will play eight of its 10 opponents twice, and the other two opponents once each – one at home and one away.

Each school will play the same home and home opponents over the course of two years in the current model. The single play opponents will switch sites in 2015-16.

The Huskies will play home-and-home series against Cincinnati, East Carolina, Memphis, USF, SMU, Temple, Tulane, and Tulsa for 16 league games. UConn will travel to UCF and will play host to Houston to complete the conference schedule. Dates and times of the games will be announced at a later date.

The American Women's Basketball Championship includes all 11 teams and will be seeded 1-11. The tournament will begin on Friday with matchups between the No. 9 and No. 8 seeds, No. 10 and No. 7 seeds and No. 11 and No. 6 seeds. The winners will advance to meet the first, second and third seeds, respectively, on Saturday.

Also playing on Saturday will be the No. 5 and No. 4 seeds. The top five seeds in the championship will receive byes into Saturday's quarterfinal round.

The 2015 American Women's Basketball Championship will be played March 6-9 at Mohegan Sun Arena in Uncasville, Conn.  With the addition of East Carolina University, Tulane University and the University of Tulsa in 2014, The American’s basketball membership will increase to 11. The conference enjoyed tremendous basketball success in 2013-14 with UConn’s NCAA Men’s and Women’s Basketball Championships, which was the second time that the two teams have won national titles in the same season.

The American was the only league to have a team advance to the final four of all the major postseason college tournaments with SMU playing in the men’s NIT championship game and USF and Rutgers, the eventual champion, in the women’s NIT.