Skip to main content Skip to footer
Dailey Inducted into Women's Basketball Hall of Fame

June 10, 2018

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. - UConn women's basketball associate head coach Chris Dailey was inducted as a member of the Class of 2018 into the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame Saturday night.

Dailey joins UConn's head coach Geno Auriemma (2006), Rebecca Lobo (2010), Jennifer Rizzotti (2013) and Kara Wolters (2017) in the Hall of Fame.

Dailey entered the hall of fame with Ceal Barry (coach), Rose Marie Battaglia (veteran, contributor), Chamique Holdsclaw (player), Mickie DeMoss (contributor – assistant coach), Katie Smith (player) and Tina Thompson (player).

Dailey and DeMoss are the first assistant coaches to earn entry into the Hall of Fame.

The event was hosted by basketball analyst Debbie Antonelli. In addition to the seven inductees, the Hall of Fame recognized members of the Women's Professional Basketball League as trailblazers of the game.

Dailey has coached for 33 seasons in Storrs, having come to Connecticut with Auriemma in 1985.

Together, Auriemma and Dailey have combined to lead UConn to an all-time record 11 NCAA National Championships (1995, 2000, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2009, 2010, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016). The duo has led Connecticut to a 1027-135 overall record in 33 years.

Auriemma and Dailey have transformed UConn Women’s Basketball from a program with just one winning season in its history when they arrived in Storrs in 1985 to the most successful and dominant program in the history of women’s basketball.

As a coaching tandem, Geno and Chris have combined to direct the UConn women’s basketball program to 19 appearances in the NCAA Final Four during the past 28 years, including 11 consecutive Final Four berths. Also, undefeated seasons were produced en route to six of UConn’s 11 NCAA Championships (1994-95, 2001-02, 2008-09, 2009-10, 2013-14, 2015-16).