Skip to main content Skip to footer
Moore Named Co-Winner Of 2010 Honda-Broderick Cup

June 21, 2010

NEW YORK - University of Connecticut women's basketball student-athlete Maya Moore was named to co-winner of the annual Honda-Broderick Cup, given by the Collegiate Women Sports Awards designating the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year, Monday.

Moore shares the award with volleyball standout Megan Hodge, a senior volleyball player at Penn State University and is the third athlete from the University of Connecticut to receive the prestigious award.

The Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year award recognizes not only outstanding athletic achievement but also team contributions, scholastics and community involvement. This year's tie marks only the second time that two athletes have received the Honda-Broderick Cup in the same year.

Judith R. Holland, co-founder and executive director of the Collegiate Women Sports Awards, noted: "This year's history-making tie for our top award is highly unusual. And while it is extremely rare for us to have a tie for Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year, in this case it is quite fortuitous, as we are delighted to be able to give the award to two such outstanding athletes and exemplary young women as Maya and Megan. They are both very worthy recipients and we are proud to have them join our legacy."

Moore, a native of Jefferson City, Missouri, grew up in Lawrenceville, Georgia. She helped her team achieve an NCAA record of 78 consecutive wins over two seasons, as well as its sixth undefeated season and second straight NCAA National Championship. Moore ended the season averaging 18.9 points and 8.3 rebounds, and scored in double figures 34 times. She finished the 2009-2010 season with 736 points, the second most points scored in a season by a UConn player (the most was 754 pts in 2008-09, also achieved by Moore herself). So far in her career Moore has scored 2168 points, with 963 rebounds and 243 three-pointers. She is also the first junior in the program's history to score over 2000 points. She received both the 2010 NCAA Final Four Most Outstanding Player and Dayton Regional's Most Outstanding Player award and is a three-time AP First Team All-American. A Sports Marketing and Media major with a 3.85 GPA, she has been honored this year as the Big East Scholar Athlete of the Year, ESPN Academic All-America of the Year, CoSIDA Academic First-Team, 2010 Wade Trophy winner and Wooden Award finalist.



Highlights from the Los Angeles ceremony will be available for free and unrestricted use via satellite newsfeed on Monday, June 21 from 3:00 - 3:30 pm (PST) & 4:30 - 4:45 pm (PST). Satellite coordinates are as follows: C-Band Analog / Galaxy 19 / Transponder 20 / Downlink 4100 Horizontal / Audio 6.2, 6.8