Skip to main content Skip to footer
Stewart and Tuck Nominated for NCAA Woman of the Year Award

Breanna Stewart and Morgan Tuck have been nominated for the NCAA Woman of the Year Award.
June 22, 2016

STORRS, Conn. - Former UConn women’s basketball stars Breanna Stewart and Morgan Tuck have been nominated for the NCAA Woman of the Year award, as announced by the NCAA on Tuesday, June 21.

The NCAA Woman of the Year award honors graduating female college athletes who have exhausted their eligibility and distinguished themselves throughout their collegiate careers in academics, athletics, service and leadership.

Stewart swept the 2016 national player of the year honors and is a two-time winner of the Wooden Award. She is also a three-time winner of the Naismith Trophy (Atlanta Tip-Off Club), Associated Press Player of the Year Award and the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award (USBWA). The North Syracuse, N.Y. native has also won the Wade Trophy (WBCA) in each of the last two season. 

Stewart, who also won the Senior CLASS Award in 2016, finished her career as UConn's all-time leader with 414 career blocked shots and is second on the Huskies' all-time scoring list with 2,676 points.

On Dec. 9 Stewart became the only player in NCAA history to reach 300 career blocks and 300 career assists. She is also the seventh NCAA Division I women's player with 2,000 points, 1,000 rebounds, 200 assists, 200 steals and 200 blocks. She became the first player in NCAA history to be selected as the Final Four Most Outstanding Player four times. No other player has earned more than two Final Four MOP honors.



Along with Moriah Jefferson and Tuck, Stewart led the Huskies to four-straight national championships, six conference championships and a record 151 wins over the last four seasons. The trio led the Huskies to their record ninth-straight Final Four in 2015-16 and propelled UConn to 24-straight NCAA Tournament wins, surpassing the previous record of 21-consecutive NCAA Tournament victories which was held by Tennessee since 1999.

Tuck was honored as an All-American by the WBCA and earned second team stats from the Associated Press at the end of her senior season. A two-time American Athletic Conference First Team selection, Tuck finished her final year with an assist-turnover ratio of 2.1/1, which was the second-best mark in the league.

The 2016 AAC Sportsmanship Award winner, Tuck saved some of her best play for the postseason, earning spots on the All-NCAA Tournament team in each of the last two years.

NCAA member schools have nominated 517 student-athletes for the 2016 Woman of the Year award.

Next, conferences assess their member school nominees and select up to two conference nominees. The Woman of the Year selection committee, made up of representatives from the NCAA membership, will then choose the top 30 honorees - 10 from each division. 

From the top 30, the selection committee determines the top three honorees from each division and announces the nine finalists in September. The NCAA Committee on Women's Athletics then chooses from among those nine to determine the 2016 NCAA Woman of the Year.

The top 30 honorees will be celebrated and the 2016 NCAA Woman of the Year winner will be announced at the annual award ceremony Oct. 16 in Indianapolis.