Skip to main content Skip to footer
Congratulations to Maya Moore and the Minnesota Lynx - WNBA Champs!

Maya Moore helped Minnesota win its first WNBA Championship on Friday night.

Oct. 7, 2011

STORRS, Conn. - WNBA Rookie of the Year and former University of Connecticut women's basketball team standout Maya Moore scored 15 points to lead the Minnesota Lynx to a three-game sweep of the Atlanta Dream in the WNBA FInals on Friday night in Atlanta. With the victory, Moore and the Lynx win the franchise's first WNBA Championship after completing the best regular season in team history.

Atlanta led 37-33 at the break but Minnesota outscored the Dream 19-8 in the third quarter to seize control of the game.

2011 marks the second-straight year a former Husky has helped her team win the WNBA Championship. Sue Bird, Swin Cash and Svetlana Abrosimova led the Seattle Storm to the 2010 title.

Moore , the No. 1 overall pick in the 2011 WNBA Draft, helped the Lynx post a 27-7 regular-season record. The Lynx earned the No. 1 overall seed in the playoffs and cruised to their first crown. Minnesota was 7-1 in the playoffs.

Moore averaged 13.2 points for the Lynx in her rookie campaign. Minnesota was 13-21 in 2010.