Skip to main content Skip to footer
UConn Unanimously Selected to Win 2013-14 American Athletic Conference Regular-Season Title

Breanna Stewart and the Huskies were tabbed as the favorites to finish first in the inaugural American Athletic Conference season.

Oct. 14, 2013

UNCASVILLE, Conn. - Defending National Champion UConn was chosen as the unanimous favorite to win the 2013-14 American Athletic Conference regular-season title. Louisville, the national runner-up, was chosen to finish second in the voting. The selection was made by the league's 10 head coaches, who were not permitted to select their own teams.

UConn was selected unanimously to win the league in the inaugural year of the American Athletic Conference after the Huskies won the NCAA Championship title last year. UConn returns three starters and seven of its top-eight scorers from last year's national championship squad. Connecticut finished 35-4 in 2012-13 to post its eighth-straight 30-win season.  The Huskies enter the 2013-14 season having appeared in a record six-straight Final Fours and UConn has advanced to at least the Final Four 11 times since 2000.

The Huskies will be led by Preseason American Athletic Conference Player of the Year Breanna Stewart, who was named the Most Outstanding Player of the Final Four last season. Joining Stewart is junior Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis and senior Stefanie Dolson, both selected by the coaches as Preseason All-Conference team members.

The 2014 American Women's Basketball Championship will be hosted at Mohegan Sun Arena in Uncasville, Conn., March 7-10. Home to the WNBA's Connecticut Sun, the 10,000-seat, state-of-the-art Mohegan Sun Arena opened in November of 2002, and is now internationally recognized as a premier facility. The winner of the conference tournament earns an automatic berth the 2014 NCAA Championship.

2013-14 Preseason Coaches Poll         Points
1.      Connecticut (9)                              81
2.      Louisville (1)                                 73
3.      USF                                              59
4.      Rutgers                                        57
5.      SMU                                             50
6.      Memphis                                       32
7.      Cincinnati                                      30
8.      UCF                                              28
9.      Temple                                         25
10.     Houston                                       15