Stefanie Dolson Selected as Candidate for the 2014 Senior CLASS Award

    UCONNHUSKIESDOTCOM Stefanie Dolson has been selected as a candidate for the Senior CLASS Award.
    Stefanie Dolson has been selected as a candidate for the Senior CLASS Award.

    Oct. 30, 2013

    OVERLAND PARK, Kan. – Senior University of Connecticut standout Stefanie Dolson has been selected as one of 30 student-athletes to be considered for the 2013-14 Senior CLASS Award in women’s college basketball, as announced on Tuesday. 

    To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition.

    Two former Husky greats, Sue Bird in 2002 and Maya Moore in 2011, have been honored as the Senior CLASS Award winner.

    Shabazz Napier of the UConn men's basketball team was selected as a candidate for the men's basketball Senior CLASS Award.

    An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities. 

    Of the 60 candidates, 20 have grade point averages of 3.5 or higher. There are eight CoSIDA Capital One Academic All-Americans® and seven returning All-Americans. Twenty-four of the 32 NCAA Division I basketball-playing conferences are represented as well.

    The Senior CLASS Award winners will be announced during the 2014 NCAA Men’s Final Four® and NCAA Women’s Final Four®.

    Dolson, a 2012-13 WBCA/State Farm All-America selection, enters her senior year with 1,299 career points and is fourth on UConn's all-time field goal percentage list at 59.8 percent.  A 2013 First Team All-Big East selection, Dolson has been selected to the All-Big East Tournament team in each of her three years in Storrs and was an NCAA Tournament All-Region Team pick in each of the last two seasons.  Dolson also was honored as an All-American by the United States Basketball Writers and earned All-America Third Team honors from the Associated Press last year.



    The Port Jervis, N.Y. native was recently honored as a Preseason All-AAC First Team selection and earned a spot on both the Wooden Award and Wade Trophy Preseason Watch Lists.

    Each of the 30 candidate classes will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one male candidate and one female candidate who best exemplify excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. 

    For more information on all the candidates, visit seniorCLASSaward.com.

    # # # #

    Women's Basketball Candidates

    Gennifer Brandon, California

    Amanda Hyde, IPFW

    Heather Butler, Tennessee-Martin

    Maggie Lucas, Penn State

    Alyssa Charlston, Idaho

    Dequesha McClanahan, Winthrop

    Hallie Christofferson, Iowa State

    Sarah Nelson, Creighton

    Jerica Coley, Florida International

    Eilise O’Connor, Missouri-Kansas City

    Allyson DiMagno, Cornell

    Chiney Ogwumike, Stanford

    Alexis Dobbs, American

    Haley Peters, Duke

    Stefanie Dolson, Connecticut

    Theresa Plaisance, LSU

    Jamierra Faulkner, Southern Mississippi

    Michelle Plouffe, Utah

    Ataira Franklin, Virginia

    Odyssey Sims, Baylor

    Chelsea Gray, Duke

    Alex Smith, Holy Cross

    Sarah Hansen, Florida Gulf Coast

    Kacie Sowell, Seattle

    Cassie Harberts, Southern California

    DeNesha Stallworth, Kentucky

    Jordan Hooper, Nebraska

    Rachel Tecca, Akron

    Natasha Howard, Florida State

    Alli Wiliams, Saint Francis


    Men's Basketball Candidates

    Travis Bader, Oakland

    Joe Jackson, Memphis

    Jerrelle Benimon, Towson

    Walt Lemon Jr., Bradley

    Kyle Boswell, UC Santa Barbara

    J.J. Mann, Belmont

    Allan Chaney, High Point

    Doug McDermott, Creighton

    Aaron Craft, Ohio State

    Sean McGonagill, Brown

    Jordan Dykstra, South Dakota State

    Travis McKie, Wake Forest

    Melvin Ejim, Iowa State

    Jordan McRae, Tennessee

    Dwayne Evans, Saint Louis

    Shabazz Napier, Connecticut

    Chris Eversley, Cal Poly

    Dennis Ogbe, Tennessee Tech

    C.J. Fair, Syracuse

    Kendrick Perry, Youngstown State

    Tim Frazier, Penn State

    Dwight Powell, Stanford

    Jakob Gollon, Mercer

    Augustine Rubit, South Alabama

    Joe Harris, Virginia

    Russ Smith, Louisville

    Holton Hunsaker, Utah Valley

    Chris Udofia, Denver

    Anthony Ireland, Loyola Marymount

    Patric Young, Florida

    Laurie Bollig
    Phone: 913/563-5417

    An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award honors the attributes of senior student-athletes in four areas: community, classroom, character and competition. The award program is designed exclusively for college seniors who are utilizing their complete athletic eligibility, remaining committed to their university and pursuing the many rewards a senior season can bring. Premier Sports Management manages the award. 

    NCAA and Final Four are trademarks owned or licensed by the National Collegiate Athletic Association.