Skip to main content Skip to footer
Gabby Williams Named to The Cheryl Miller Award Watch List

Nov. 8, 2017

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Senior forward Gabby Williams (Sparks, Nev.) of the No. 1 University of Connecticut women’s basketball team was named to the 2018 Cheryl Miller Award watch list as announced by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame on Monday afternoon.

In its inaugural season, the award recognizes the top small forward in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball and named in honor of three –time Naismith Player of the Year, Cheryl Miller.

Williams, the 2017 WBCA National Defensive Player of the Year, was one of three Huskies to start all 37 games. A 2017 Associated Press Second Team All-American selection, Williams led the team with 100 steals and 190 helpers to become the first post player to pace the team in assists. She finished third on the team with 14.3 points per contest.

Earlier this week, Williams was selected to the Associated Press Preseason All-American Team, along with teammates Napheesa Collier (O’Fallon, Missouri) and Katie Lou Samuelson (Huntington Beach, Calif.).

The winner of the 2018 Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award will be announced during ESPN2’s telecast of the national semifinal games in the 2018 NCAA Women’s Final Four in Columbus, Ohio on Friday, March 30.



The Selection Committee for the Cheryl Miller Award is composed of top womens college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers. By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2018 Cheryl Miller Award will be narrowed to just 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Ms. Miller and the Hall of Fames selection committee. Fans will also have the opportunity to vote for their favorite finalist at

Additional awards being presented in Columbus, Ohio include the Nancy Lieberman Point Guard Award, the Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard Award, the Katrina McClain Power Forward Award, and the Lisa Leslie Center Award, as well as the Wade Trophy, the sport’s oldest and most prestigious national player of the year award.