Skip to main content Skip to footer
Collier Garners Katrina McClain Watch List Honors

Nov. 9, 2017

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Junior forward Napheesa Collier (O’Fallon Missouri) of the No. 1 University of women’s Connecticut women’s basketball team was named to the 2018 Katrina McClain Award watch list as announced by the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame on Thursday afternoon.

The award recognizes the top power forward in women’s NCAA Division I basketball and is named in honor of two-time All-American and 1987 National Player of the Year selection Katrina McClain.

Collier, the 2016-17 American Co-Player of the Year, started all 37 games last season and paced the offense with 20.4 points and 9.1 rebounds per game and 77 blocked shots. The forward scored in double-figures in all but one games played and posted two 30-point games, including a career-high 39 points against USF on February 27. Following a stellar sophomore campaign, the O'Fallon, Missouri native garnered First Team All-American honors by the AP, WBCA and USBWA in 2017. Additionally, Collier was tabbed The American Athletic Conference Preseason Player of the Year.

Earlier this week, Collier was selected to the Associated Press Preseason All-American Team, along with teammates Gabby Williams (Sparks, Nev.) and Katie Lou Samuelson (Huntington Beach, Calif.).



The winner of the 2018 Katrina McClain Power Forward Award will be announced during ESPN2's telecast of the national semifinal games in the 2018 NCAA Women's Final Four in Columbus, Ohio on Friday, March 30.

The Selection Committee for the Katrina McClain Award is composed of top women's college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers. By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2018 Cheryl Miller Award will be narrowed to just 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Ms. Miller and the Hall of Fame's selection committee. Fans will also have the opportunity to vote for their favorite finalist at

Additional awards being presented in Columbus, Ohio include the Nancy Lieberman Point Guard Award, the Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard Award, the Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award, and the Lisa Leslie Center Award, as well as the Wade Trophy, the sports oldest and most prestigious national player of the year award.