Skip to main content Skip to footer
Stevens Named 2014 NFHCA National Coach of the Year

Nancy Stevens was named the 2014 NFHCA National Coach of the Year after leading UConn to the NCAA DI National Title.
Jan. 16, 2015

STORRS, Conn. – For the second consecutive year, UConn field hockey head coach Nancy Stevens has been named as the NFHCA Coach of the Year, as announced by the organization on Friday.

Stevens, the sport’s all-time winningest coach at the DI level, guided the Huskies to their second-straight title after her squad defeated Syracuse, 1-0, in the NCAA championship game on Nov. 23. UConn capped its incredible season with 14-straight wins and has now won eight-straight NCAA Tournament games dating back to the 2013 campaign.

An eight-time Regional Coach of the Year, Stevens has amassed a 413-25-8 record  in 25 seasons at the helm of the Huskies to go along with 28 Big East Championships. Additionally, Stevens has guided the Huskies to the NCAA Tournament in 18 of the last 19 seasons overall and during that span, Connecticut has earned 14 NCAA quarterfinal berths and advanced to the NCAA National Semifinals seven times. The Huskies are currently enjoying a streak of 13 straight NCAA berths, dating back to 2002.



Stevens is one of five UConn coaches to have earned national coach of the year recognition, joining Hall of Fame women's basketball coach Geno Auriemma (eight-time National Coach of the Year), men's soccer coach Ray Reid (four-time National Coach of the Year), long-time women's soccer coach Len Tsantiris (1997 NSCAA National Coach of the Year), and former men's basketball Hall-of-Famer Jim Calhoun (1990 AP National Coach of the Year).

The 2014 campaign also marked UConn's third NCAA National Semifinal berth in the last four seasons and the program's seventh overall under Stevens. Connecticut became just the fifth program to win at least two-straight DI field hockey national titles.

At 595 career wins, Stevens surpassed Old Dominion coach Beth Anders as the sport’s all-time winner during the 2013 season.

In 2014, three Huskies, Roisin Upton, Chrissy Davidson and Anna Middendorf, were named All-Americans and four different Husky athletes were placed on the All-Big East First Team. Overall, 43 First Team All-America titles have been distributed to players under Stevens’ guidance.

In 2007, Coach Stevens was inducted to the NFHCA Hall of Fame for both her successful coaching career and her impressive playing years at West Chester University. At West Chester, Stevens helped her team to an AIAW National Championship while also playing with the U.S. National Team from 1974-1979, where she competed in the 1975 World Championships in Edinburgh, Scotland. Stevens was inducted into the West Chester Hall of Fame in 2003 before being enshrined in the Connecticut Field Hockey Hall of Fame in 2006.