Skip to main content Skip to footer
UConn Field Hockey Team Receives Collegiate National Team Academic Award

March 11, 2015

STORRS, Conn. - The University of Connecticut field hockey team was one of 71 NCAA Division I programs honored by the National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA)on Mondayas a recipient of the Collegiate National Team Academic Award for academic excellence in the fall 2014 semester.

The National Academic Team Award recognizes those institutions that achieved a team GPA of 3.0 or higher during the first semester of the 2014-15 academic year.

Earlier this year, eight Huskies, Chrissy Davidson, Megan Palmisano, Nina Klein, Casey Umstead, Anna Middendorf, Efthimia Kutrubis, Karlie Heistand and Charlotte Veitner, were selected as NFHCA Collegiate National Academic Squad members.



Six players, Tamara DeNobriga, Heistand, Middendorf, Palmisano, Umstead and Veitner earned spots on the University's Dean's List in the fall semester, while 11 players, Sophie Bowden, Casey Higgins, Kutrubis, Palmisano, Mckenzie Townsend, Emily Walsh, Chrissy Davidson, Klein, Middendorf, Jamie Schlotterer, and Roisin Upton, earned Big East All-Academic Team distinctions.

17 members of UConn's 23-player roster qualified for the 2014 Athletic Director's Honor Roll.

Heistand and Umstead also took home Scholar of Distinction honors from the NFHCA.

"Our coaching staff is extremely proud of the team's commitment to excelling in the classroom," said 2014 NFHCA National Coach of the Year Nancy Stevens. "Creating a culture of academic excellence continues to be a priority for UConn field hockey."

The2014 Gladiator by SGI / NFHCA Scholars of Distinction will be released on Monday, March 16th, with the National Academic Squad being released on Monday, March 23rd.