Skip to main content Skip to footer
Field Hockey Gets 12 Players on National Academic Squad

March 15, 2017

Complete NFHCA Release | @UConnFHockey on Twitter

STORRS, Conn. –
One week after the UConn field hockey team was recognized for outstanding academic output in the fall semester of 2016, 12 Huskies have been named to the Zag Field Hockey/NFHCA Division I National Academic Squad.

Following their fifth-straight Big East Championship and fourth-consecutive trip to the NCAA Final Four, the Huskies continue to perform just as well in the classroom. Two student-athletes were also named Division I Scholars of Distinction.

Amanda Collins, Karlie Heistand, Amelia Iacobucci, Nina Klein, Kita Konerth, Efthimia Kutrubis, Haeli McCabe, Anna Middendorf, Ashley Rich, Casey Umstead, Barbara van den Hoogen and Charlotte Veitner all gained recognition for maintaining cumulative GPAs of 3.3 or higher through the first semester of 2016-17.



In addition, Konerth and Rich were honored as Scholars of Distinction for having cumulative GPAs of 3.9 or higher through the first semester of the current school year. Just 114 student-athletes were recognized for this accomplishment.

79 schools were represented for the National Academic Squad, amounting to 926 student-athletes in total. Only 54 schools had student-athletes named as Scholars of Distinction.

It is the fourth National Academic Squad mention for Klein, Kutrubis and Middendorf in their UConn careers. Umstead and Veitner are both three-time recipients.

The Huskies went 22-2 (7-0 Big East) under head coach Nancy Stevens in 2016, winning both the Big East Regular Season and Tournament titles before losing to North Carolina in the Final Four in Norfolk, Va.