Skip to main content Skip to footer
14 Field Hockey Student-Athletes Selected to NFHCA National Academic Squad

14 members of the UConn field hockey team were honored by the NFHCA on Tuesday.
March 22, 2016

STORRS, Conn. – The University of Connecticut field hockey team had 14 student-athletes selected as members of the 2015 ZAG Field Hockey/NFHCA Division I National Academic Squad, the National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) announced on Tuesday.

Cailin Agnello, Amanda Collins, Karlie Heistand, Amelia Iacobucci, Nina Klein, Efthimia Kutrubis, Pippa Lewis, Haeli McCabe, Anna Middendorf, Megan Palmisano, Ashley Rich, Madison Ryon, Casey Umstead and Charlotte Veitner were among over 500 student-athletes honored by the NFHCA for achieving a cumulative GPA of 3.30 of higher through the first semester of the 2015-16 academic year. Palmisano is the only Husky on the team to receive the honor in each of her four years at UConn.

Rich was also selected as a Scholar of Distinction for having achieved a cumulative GPA of 3.90 or higher through the first semester of the 2015-16 academic year.



As a team, UConn was honored on Monday as one of 68 institutions that had a team GPA of 3.0 or higher during the first semester of the 2015-16 academic year.

In November, Connecticut advanced to the semifinals of the NCAA Tournament before falling to Syracuse, 3-1, in Ann Arbor, Mich. The Huskies made their 27th appearance in the NCAA Tournament and owned a program record 36-game winning streak, dating back to the 2014 national championship season. Additionally, UConn earned its third-straight Big East regular season crown and fourth-straight tournament title.

To keep up with the team during the offseason, follow @UConnFHockey on Twitter.