Skip to main content Skip to footer
Eight Field Hockey Student-Athletes Selected as NFHCA National Academic Squad Members

Eight members of the UConn field hockey team were honored by the NFHCA on Monday.
March 23, 2015

STORRS, Conn. - Eight University of Connecticut field hockey standouts were selected as members of the 2014 Gladiator Division I National Academic Squad, the National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) announced on Monday.

Chrissy Davidson, Karlie Heistand, Nina Klein, Efthimia Kutrubis, Anna Middendorf, Megan Palmisano, Casey Umstead and Charlotte Veitner were among the 550 athletes honored by the NFHCA for achieving a cumulative GPA of 3.30 or higher through the first semester of the 2014-15 academic year.

Last week, Umstead and Heistand were tabbed as Division I Scholars of Distinction for achieving a grade point average of at least 3.90 during the 2014 fall semester



As a team, UConn was honored on March 11 as one of 71 institutions that achieved a team GPA of 3.0 or higher during the first semester of the 2014-15 academic year. In total, 17 members of UConn's 23-player roster qualified for the 2014 Athletic Director's Honor Roll.

In November, Connecticut captured the 2014 NCAA Division I national title by defeating Syracuse, 1-0, in the championship game held in College Park, Md. The 2014 crown marked UConn's fourth title (1981, 1985, 2013, 2014) and second under Stevens. The Huskies capped their incredible season with 14-straight wins and have won eight straight NCAA Tournament contests, hoisting two trophies in as many years. Additionally, UConn swept both the Big East regular season and tournament titles.

To keep up with the team during its offseason, follow @UConnFHockey on Twitter.