Skip to main content Skip to footer
Field Hockey Among Eight National Champions To Receive NCAA Public Recognition Award

Casey Umstead was honored as a Division I Scholar of Distinction by the NFHCA in early March.
May 21, 2015

STORRS, Conn. -- The 2014 National Championship UConn field hockey team is among eight 2014-15 Division I champions to receive a Public Recognition Award by the NCAA, as announced by the organization on Wednesday.

Based on their most recent Academic Progress Rate, each team posted scores in the top-10 percent of their sport. The Huskies earned a perfect 1000 score in both their single-year and multi-year scores in the most recent 2012-13 release. APRs for the 2013-14 academic year for all Division I teams will be announced May 27.

In total, 1,124 teams were publicly recognized for high achievement. These teams represent 696 women's teams and 428 men's or mixed squads, the highest ever in the decade since the NCAA began the Public Recognition Awards program. In 2014, 1,049 teams were recognized, marking an increase of 75 teams.

The other national championship squads on the list include Duke (men's basketball), Loyala (men's volleyball), Stanford (women's water polo), UCLA (men's water polo), Colorado (men's cross country) and Virginia (men's tennis). 

As a team, UConn was honored on March 11 by the NFHCA as one of 71 institutions that achieved a team GPA of 3.0 or higher during the first semester of the 2014-15 academic year. In total, 17 members of UConn's 23-player roster qualified for the 2014 Athletic Director's Honor Roll.

Chrissy DavidsonKarlie HeistandNina KleinEfthimia KutrubisAnna Middendorf, Megan PalmisanoCasey Umstead and Charlotte Veitner were among the 550 athletes honored by the NFHCA for achieving a cumulative GPA of 3.30 or higher through the first semester of the 2014-15 academic year.

Six players, Tamara DeNobriga, Heistand, Middendorf, Palmisano, Umstead and Veitner earned spots on the University's Dean's List in the fall semester, while 11 players, Sophie Bowden, Casey Higgins, Kutrubis, Palmisano, Mckenzie Townsend, Emily Walsh, Davidson, Klein, Middendorf, Jamie Schlotterer, and Roisin Upton, earned Big East All-Academic Team distinctions.



Additionally, Umstead and Heistand were tabbed as Division I Scholars of Distinction for achieving a grade point average of at least 3.90 during the 2014 fall semester.

To keep up with the team throughout the offseason, follow @UConnFHockey on Twitter.