Skip to main content Skip to footer
Marie Elena Bolles Selected to USA Field Hockey Junior World Cup Team

Marie Elena Bolles earned a spot on the 2013 Junior World Cup Team.

June 28, 2013

STORRS, Conn. - University of Connecticut field hockey standout Marie Elena Bolles has been selected to the USA Field Hockey Junior World Cup Team as announced by Team USA U21 coach Steve Jennings on Friday.  Held every four years, the Junior World Cup represents the top international event for elite field hockey athletes under the age of 21.   

Three Huskies, Melissa Gonzalez, Rayell Heistand and Loren Sherer, competed in the 2009 Junior World Cup.  The 2013 Junior World Cup is set for July 27-August 4, in Monchengladbach, Germany.

The selection process for the Junior World Cup team spanned over four events, including the Women's National Championship, U-21 Women's National Championship, Futures Elite Championship and National Futures Championship. From the four events, 34-players were selected to attend Junior National Camp. The final squad was trimmed to 18-players plus three replacement athletes.  

"We have selected a very talented squad and are excited to see their potential unfold over the coming weeks," said Jennings. "It will be a big challenge but the skill, speed and unity of our team will represent us in great fashion."

Bolles finished 2012 third on the team with 12 goals, eight assists and 32 points.  She was named BIG EAST Offensive Player of the Year and scored one of her team-high tying six game-winning goals in the final second of the 2012 BIG EAST Championship Final to clinch the victory for the Huskies.

2013 USA Field Hockey Junior World Cup Team
Teresa Benvenuti (Morristown, N.J.), Lauren Blazing (Chapel Hill, N.C.), Marie-Elena Bolles(Phoenixville, Pa.), Emma Bozek (Cortlandt Manor, N.Y.), Samantha Carlino (Kennett Square, Pa.),Anna Dessoye (Mountain Top, Pa.), Maxine Fluharty (Millsboro, Del.), Laura Gebhart (Mount Joy, Pa.), Katie Gerzabek (Springfield, Pa.), Kelsey Harbin (Escondido, Calif.), Georgia Holland (Stony Brook, N.Y.), Aileen Johnson (Oceanport, N.J.), Ainsley McCallister (Ann Arbor, Mich.), Nikki Parsley (Milford, Del.), Hannah Prince (Gorham, Maine), Kelsey Smither (Suffolk, Va.), Tara Vittese(Cherry Hill, N.J.), Emily Wold (Freehold, N.J.)