Skip to main content Skip to footer
Four Field Hockey Standouts Earn All-America Status

Rayell Heistand has been honored as an All-American twice in her career.

Nov. 21, 2011

STORRS, Conn. – University of Connecticut field hockey standouts Jestine Angelini and Sarah Mansfield have each been honored as All-America First Team selections while Rayell Heistand and Anne Jeute have been selected to the Second Team as announced by the National Field Hockey Coaches Association on Monday.

The Huskies recently completed a 19-3 season and posted a perfect 6-0 mark in BIG EAST play to take home the league regular season championship.  UConn earned the No. 4 overall seed in the 2011 NCAA Division I Field Hockey Championship and advanced to the National Semifinal. 

23 Huskies have earned a total of 39 First Team All-America selections and 25 Huskies have now earned a total of 28 Second Team honors.

Angelini, the 2011 BIG EAST Defensive Player of the Year, led the team with 19 assists and 41 points and was also fourth on the squad with 11 goals.  Angelini also earned mention on the All-NCAA Tournament Team. 

Mansfield, the 2010 BIG EAST Goalkeeper of the Year, built off her solid rookie campaign and was even better in 2011. An All-BIG EAST First Teamer in 2010 and 2011, Mansfield was also honored as an All-NCAA Tournament Team selection this season. Mansfield has started each game for UConn in the last two seasons and has posted a 35-9 record with seven shutouts.

Heistand, a senior back, was honored as a Second Team pick for the second-straight season. Heistand was an All-BIG EAST First Team selection in each of the last two seasons and was the 2011 Preseason BIG EAST Defensive Player of the Year. Heistand is a three-time All-Mideast Region selection.

Sophomore forward Anne Jeute capped another great season with a Second Team All-America selection.  The Meerbusch, Germany native was the Huskies’ third-leading scorer with 34 points and her 14 goals led the squad.  Jeute has been honored as an All-BIG EAST First Team selection in each of the last two seasons and was an All-Mideast Region selection in 2011 as well.   

Kelsey Amy - Penn State University
Jestine Angelini - University of Connecticut
Chelsea Armstrong - Northwestern University
Emma Batten - Old Dominion University
Jenna Buckley - University of Maryland
Becky Dru - Stanford University
Katelyn Falgowski - University of North Carolina
Whitney Frates - University of New Hampshire
Megan Frazer - University of Maryland
Kelsey Kolojejchick - University of North Carolina
Sarah Mansfield - University of Connecticut
Liz McInerney - Syracuse University
Crystal Poland - Northeastern University
Jenn Sciulli - Ohio State University
Caitlin Van Sickle - University of North Carolina
Jill Witmer - University of Maryland

Bryn Bain - University of Michigan
Amanda Bird - Princeton University
Elly Buckley - University of Virginia
Maike de Jager - Boston College
Stefanie Fee - Duke University
Ayla Halus - Penn State University
Rayell Heistand - University of Connecticut
Anne Jeute - University of Connecticut
Rhian Jones - Duke University
Kyle Lyons - University of New Hampshire
Corrine McConville - University at Albany
Jacinda McLeod - Boston University
Kati Nearhouse - Old Dominion University
Heather Susek - Syracuse University
Harriet Tibble - University of Maryland
Hayley Turner - University of Louisville

Katie Ardrey - University of North Carolina
Kaela Barker - Northeastern University
Jessica Barnett - University of Iowa
Tatum Dyer - American University
Andrea Earle - University of California
Virginia Egusquiza - Rider University
Laura Gebhart - Penn State University
Kelly Hood - Dartmouth College
Genna Kovar - Hofstra University
Anna Kozniuk - Wake Forest University
Emmie Le Marchand - Duke University
Rachael Mack - University of Michigan
Kelsey Millman - Syracuse University
Samantha Nelson - Duke University
Kelly Newton - University of Maine
Bridget Settles - Temple University