Skip to main content Skip to footer
Cristin Allen Named to Hockey East 10th Anniversary Team

Hockey East All-Decade defenseman Cristin Allen.

Feb. 29, 2012

WAKEFIELD, Mass. – Former University of Connecticut women’s ice hockey defenseman Cristin Allen (’10) has been named to the Hockey East 10th Anniversary Team that was released on Wednesday morning.  Teammate Jaclyn Hawkins (’08) also represents the Huskies as an Honorable Mention.

The Women’s Hockey East Association announced a 12-member team as selected by the league’s eight head coaches.  The 12-member team will be honored on Sunday, March 4 as part of the Championship Game festivities at the Hyannis Youth and Community Center at Lt. Joseph P. Kennedy Rink.

Allen ranks seventh in UConn history with 73 points on 14 goals and 59 assists, second all-time.  She was named the team’s Rookie of the Year in 2007 and later earned All-Hockey East Second Team honors as a junior and All-Hockey East First Team honors as a senior.  In 2010, she was named the league’s Best Defenseman, while earning the team MVP award and making her way on to the Hockey East All-Tournament Team, while serving as a team captain.

Hawkins is still the program’s all-time leader in points, goals and assists.  As a freshman, she earned Hockey East Rookie of the Year award and USCHO Rookie of the Year, while also being was named to the Hockey East All-Rookie Team.  Hawkins was a two-time All-Hockey East Second Team selection and earned the league’s Sportsmanship Award in 2008.  She was also honored with the team’s Unsung Hero award in 2007 and the Pat Babcock award in 2008, while being named a New England All-Star to cap off her senior season.  Hawkins also served as a team captain for three seasons.

Complete Hockey East 10th Anniversary Release (PDF)