Skip to main content Skip to footer
Thibault, Hawkins Named to the New England Hockey Writers Division I All-Star Team

BOSTON, Mass. (April 8, 2008) - Sophomore Dominique Thibault (L'Orignal, Ont.) and senior Jaclyn Hawkins (Manotick, Ont.) have been named to the New England Hockey Writers Division I Women's All-Star team and will be honored at the New England Hockey Writers annual banquet on Wednesday, April 16.

The All-Star team will be honored on Wednesday, April 16 at the Prince Restaurant in Saugus, Mass.

Thibault, UConn's first ever women's ice hockey player to earn All-America honors as well as Hockey East Player of the Year honors, finished the regular season with a league-high 48 points, including 24 goals and 24 assists, while leading the Huskies in goals and points this season.

The sophomore phenom also picked up a new UConn program record of points in a single season with her 49 this year. She is currently in second place among UConn’s all-time scoring leaders, with 38 career goals. With 74 points in her two years at UConn, she moves up in the UConn record books to third place in career points.

Hawkins led the Huskies with a program-high 27 assists this past season while adding 14 goals for 41 points. Hawkins leads the UConn program in career goals, assists and points as she finished her collegiate career as UConn earned a program-record 22 wins. She received the Hockey East's Sportsmanship Award in March as she became the only UConn women's ice hockey player to receive that honor.

The senior co-captain will travel to Denver, Colo. for the 2008 Frozen Four Skills Challenge this weekend as she was selected for the event last month after a week of online voting followed by a committee selection.

"We are thrilled for these two young ladies," said head coach Heather Linstad. "They worked extremely hard during the season to help lead our program to this elite level that we are on and they deserve to be recognized for that. Both individuals impacted our team in their own way and made UConn a known powerhouse in Division I women's ice hockey."

Thibault and Hawkins join 10 other all-stars on the New England Writer's All-Star team, including six Hockey East opponents. Boston University's Brian Durocher was also selected as the Coach of the Year after a successful regular season with the Terriers.