Skip to main content Skip to footer
Women's Hockey Places 11 Huskies on Hockey East All-Academic Team

Senior Sarah MacDonnell
July 1, 2015

STORRS, Conn. - The UConn women's hockey club had 11 members earned Hockey East All-Academic team honors for the 2014-15 season.  Senior Sarah MacDonnell (Quispamsis, New Brunswick) led the way earning "Distinguished Scholar" honors.

MacDonnell joins nine other student-athletes from the league as "Distinguished Scholar" honorees, having reached Hockey East All-Academic team honors in each of their four seasons of play.

Three Huskies are now three-time honorees on the all-academic squad in Elaine Chuli (Waterford, Ont.), Caitlin Hewes (Stillwater, Minn.) and Margaret Zimmer (St. Charles, Ill.).  Kayla Campero (Wallingford, Conn.) and Lexi Lersch (Manhattan Beach, Calif.) earned their way on to the annual team for the second-straight season.

UConn's first-time honorees included Annie Belanger (Sherbrooke, Quebec), Rachel Farrel (Cheshire, Conn.), Lindsay Roethke (Buffalo, Minn.), Emily Snodgrass (Eagan, Minn.) and Emily Walsh (Burr Ridge, Ill.) to round out the Huskies on this year's team.

Hockey East announced on Wednesday that a league-record 106 student-athletes have been named to this year's team.  Each student-athlete achieved a grade point average of 3.0 or better in
each of the two academic periods during which he was actively competing.