Lowie and Feeley Earn Postseason Honors



    STORRS, CT (May 14) – Seniors Pam Lowie (Cortland, NY) and Kelly Feeley (Collingswood, NJ) of the University of Connecticut women’s lacrosse team were named to the 2002 IWLCA/US Lacrosse North All-Region Teams as announced Monday afternoon by the vote of the Region All-American Committee.

    Lowie earned 2002 All-BIG EAST First Team honors to wrap-up her four-year career at UConn. In 2002, Lowie notched 33 goals and six assists for a team-second 39 points. She collected 35 ground balls, caused 21 turnovers and had 14 draw controls. Lowie ends her four-year career at UConn holding the program record for goals (153), points (173) and shots on goal (336).

    Feeley was an All-BIG EAST Second Team selection at the completion of the 2002 season. Feeley ended the 2002 season on a 15-game point-scoring streak, scoring a total of 24 goals and six assists for 30 points from the defensive midfield and back line positions. In her two previous seasons at UConn, Feely had tallied 18 points, surpassing that total this year. She owned a team-leading 58 ground balls and 21 draw controls, and also caused 21 turnovers. Sitting out the 2001 season, Feeley will return to the Husky playing field to complete her fourth year of eligibility in 2003.

    The Huskies completed the 2002 season with an overall record of 9-7, one win shy of tying the program record for victories in a season. In only the second season of the BIG EAST Conference lacrosse league, UConn held a .500 record of 3-3, shattering the team’s 2001 record of 1-6. The Huskies place three players on the 2002 All-BIG EAST Teams, the most in program history.

    1st Team

    Sarah Averson, Cornell, Jr.
    Jessie Groszkowski, UNH, Jr.
    Lauren Miller, Boston College, Sr.
    Kim Wayne, Syracuse, Jr.
    Leigh-Ann Zimmer, Syracuse, So.
    Ericka Hergenroeder, Boston University, Sr.
    Pam Lowie, UConn, Sr.
    Jen Newitt, Dartmouth, Sr.
    Jaime Reynolds, Cornell, Sr.
    Katie Sargent, Yale, Fr.
    Megan Zimmer, Hofstra, Sr.
    Erica Holveck, Cornell, Jr.
    Gabby Juocys, Boston University, Sr.
    Erin Kutner, Harvard, Sr.
    Megan Strenski, Yale, Sr.
    Carrie Giancola, Cornell, Sr.

    2nd Team
    Kristin Abruzzese, Boston University, Sr.
    Christine Anneberg, Brown, So.
    Clarissa Clarke, Yale, So.
    Katie Shaughnessy, Harvard, Jr.
    Lorie Wohlschlegel, Cornell, Sr.
    Kelly Feeley, UConn, Jr.
    Kristin Marshall, Hofstra, Sr.
    Kathleen Mikowski, Hofstra, Jr.
    Lauren Uhr, Fairfield, Sr.
    Miles Whitman, Yale, So.
    Katie Cuneo, Dartmouth, Sr.
    Nicole Moore, UNH, Sr.
    Rowan Smith, Dartmouth, So.
    Kristin St. Hilaire, UMass, So.
    Kari Zarzecki, Cornell, Sr.
    Niki Caggiano, Brown, Sr.