Skip to main content Skip to footer
Lapham Named First Team All-Region For Second Straight Season

M.E. Lapham is eligible for IWLCA All-America honors.

May 25, 2012

STORRS, Conn. - University of Connecticut women's lacrosse had two players named to the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association All-Region teams for the first time in program history, as announced by the IWLCA. Senior attack M.E. Lapham (Cazenovia, N.Y.) earned a spot on the IWLCA All-Northeast Region First Team while sophomore midfielder Lauren Kahn (Nanuet, N.Y.) was named Second Team All-Northeast Region.

Lapham earns her second-straight distinction as an All-Region selection after being named to the First Team in 2011. Lapham led the Huskies in scoring throughout the season and finished with more goals (48) than any player had total points. In her final season, she notched 48 goals and 14 assists for 62 points. She finished her career as UConn's all-time leading goal scorer with 169 tallies. For her career, she notched 204 points to rank second all-time at Connecticut. Lapham ranks sixth all-time in the BIG EAST Conference with 71 goals and 11th all-time with 84 points in league play.

Kahn earned a spot on the All-BIG EAST Second Team after ranking third on the UConn squad with 41 points on 30 goals and 11 assists. Overall, she led all UConn players with 17 caused turnovers and ranked second on the team with 28 ground balls. Kahn led the squad with three game-winning goals as well in her second season in Storrs.

The Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association selected 16 student-athletes for the Northeast Region First Team. Overall, 128 student-athletes were honored and are now eligible for inclusion on the IWLCA All-American teams, which will be announced on Sunday, May 27.

Lauren Kahn had a sensational sophomore season for the Huskies.

Northeast Region

First Team

Becca Block, Syracuse, Jr., D
Alyssa Constantino, Syracuse, So., G
Danielle Etrasco, Boston University, Jr., A
Katie Ferris, Massachusetts, So., A
Ellen Gleason, Harvard, Sr., D
Caroline Helmer, Cornell, Sr., D
Ali Houlis, Massachusetts, Sr., D
Kristin Igoe, Boston College, Sr., M
M.E. Lapham, Connecticut, Sr., A
Alyssa Murray, Syracuse, So., A
Sarah Plumb, Dartmouth, Sr., M
Mikaela Rix, Boston College, Fr., M
Covie Stanwick, Boston College, Fr., A
Jessi Steinberg, Cornell, Sr., A
Michelle Tumulo, Syracuse, Jr., A
Katie Webster, Syracuse, So., M

Second Team

Melanie Baskind, Harvard, Sr., M
Georgia Bird, Dartmouth, Sr., D
Kristen Giovanniello, Dartmouth, So., G
Kirsten Goldberg, Dartmouth, Sr., A
Lauren Kahn, Connecticut, So., M
Katie Keagins, New Hampshire, Sr., M
Sydney Mas, Vermont, So., A
Courtney Miller, Colgate, Sr., M
Jesse O'Donnell, Massachusetts, Sr., A
Ariana Parker, Albany, So., M
Riley Perry, Massachusetts, Sr., D
Jenn Primeau, Albany, Sr., D
Caroline Salisbury, Cornell, Jr., A
Nina Sarcona, Massachusetts, Sr., A
Hilary Smith, Dartmouth, Sr., D
Danielle Tetreault, Harvard, Jr. M