Rosen Named to the 2003-04 US Elite Team



    STORRS, CT (June 9) – Bonnie Rosen, head coach of the University of Connecticut women’s lacrosse team, was named to the 2003-04 United States Elite Team, as announced by US Lacrosse. Forty-eight of the nation’s top female lacrosse players were named to both the 2003-04 US Elite and Developmental Teams, 24 on each squad.

    Rosen was a member of the 2001 US World Cup Team that captured its fourth consecutive world title. Rosen was a starting defender on the 16-member 1997 U.S. Lacrosse World Cup games team, which captured the 1997 World Cup in Tokyo. Rosen is an 11-year member of the United States Lacrosse Elite Team (1992-present), captained the 2000 Touring Team to Australia, and was also a member of the 1996 Touring Team to Great Britain.

    Elite team head coach Sue Stahl, who also is the head coach at Old Dominion, Developmental team head coach Sue Murphy, head coach at Richmond, headed up a selection committee that named the teams from a pool of applicants that competed in recent tryouts.

    The teams will practice together, play exhibition scrimmages against college teams and serve as clinicians for the US Lacrosse Women’s Division National Clinic Month activities scheduled for February 2004. US Lacrosse conducts clinics for youth players at locations throughout the country to help aid in the growth of the sport.

    US Lacrosse, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization, is the national governing body of men’s and women’s lacrosse. To learn more, visit its web site at www.uslacrosse.org.

    The Elite and Developmental teams
    U.S. Elite Team 2003-04
    Lauren Aumiller, Virginia, 2003
    Quinn Carney, Maryland, 2001
    Joanne Connelly, Penn State, 1997
    Kara Cooke, Virginia, 1998
    Michele DeJuliis, Penn State, 1998
    Erin Elbe, Georgetown, 2002
    Randall Flynn, Maryland, 1997
    Danielle Gallagher, William & Mary, 1989
    Cherie Greer, Virginia, 1994
    Sarah Hughes, Dartmouth, 2002
    Alex Kahoe, Maryland, 2000
    Kate Kaiser, Duke, 2003
    Lauri Kenis, Virginia, 2002
    Sarah Nelson, Harvard, 1994
    Kinsley O’Garrow, George Mason, 2000
    Bonnie Rosen, Virginia, 1993

    Crista Samaras, Princeton, 1999
    Gina Sambus, Virginia, 2003
    Julie Shaner, Princeton, 2001
    Lucy Small, Princeton, 1999
    Kristin Sommar, Maryland, 2000
    Kellie Thompson, North Carolina, 2002
    Acacia Walker, Maryland, 2005
    Jessica Wilk, Maryland, 1990

    U.S. Developmental Team 2003-04
    Amy Altig, James Madison, 2005
    Amy Appelt, Virginia, 2005
    Rachael Becker, Princeton, 2003
    Lindsey Biles, Princeton, 2005
    Cary Chasney, Virginia, 2005
    Katie Chrest, Duke, 2006
    Colleen Christopher, New Hampshire, 2001
    Kim Connors, Virginia, 2006
    Kelly Coppedge, Maryland, 2004
    Delia Cox, Maryland, 2006
    Suzanne Eyler, Loyola, 2002
    Meg Miller, Duke, 2004
    Polly Purcell, Richmond, 2004
    Stephy Samaras, Virginia, 2000
    Julie Shank, Maryland, 2003
    Danielle Shearer, Notre Dame, 2003
    Anne Sheridan, Boston University, 2005
    Tara Singleton, Loyola, 2004
    Lana Smith, Dartmouth, 2004
    Steph Sweet, Loyola, 2000
    Rachel Szakmary, North Carolina, 2004
    Devon Wills, Dartmouth, 2006
    Jami Wilus, LaSalle, 2002
    Suzanne Wosczyna, Old Dominion, 2004