Skip to main content Skip to footer
Five Husky Rowers Honored For Academics

Five UConn rowers were honored for academics by the CRCA.

June 22, 2011

STORRS, Conn. - Five members of the University of Connecticut rowing team have been named Scholar-Athletes for the 2010-11 academic year by the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association.

Qualification standards for this award are that a student-athlete has a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher for her academic career, be least a sophomore and have participated in at least 75 percent of the spring races and race in a regional conference event.

The five honorees from UConn are: junior Kaitlyn Clarke (Tolland, Conn.), a biomedical engineering major; senior Lizzie Littlewood (Mystic, Conn.), a physiology and neurobiology major; senior Gretchen Stern (Rexford, N.Y.), a pharmacy major; senior Kim Weber (Ridgefield, Conn.), a secondary education and history major; and sophomore Hillary Wiles-Lafayette (Litchfield, Conn.), an exploratory major.

Clarke and Wiles-Lafayette rowed in the varsity eight boat this past spring, while Weber, Littlewood and Stern spent time in both the varsity eight and second varsity eight boats.