Skip to main content Skip to footer
Rowing Announces Newcomers for 2017-18

Sept. 18, 2017


STORRS, Conn. -
The UConn rowing program begins fall competition on Sunday, Oct. 1 at the Head of the Riverfront, and will do so with 25 new student-athletes on the roster under head coach Jennifer Wendry.

Wendry and her coaching staff announced the addition of 17 walk-on rowers to join the Huskies for the 2017-18 season on Monday morning - a group that combines with eight incoming freshmen to total 25 newcomers to the program.

"In collegiate rowing, walk-ons are crucial in adding depth to the team. Many times, walk-ons contribute to the top boats in the program," said Wendry. "Coach (Kathy) Les has chosen a small group of women with solid athletic backgrounds."

Nearly all of the walk-ons come from the Tri-State area, as 14 are from Connecticut, one from New York and one from New Jersey. Junior Elizabeth Sklar travels the furthest to come to UConn, originally from St. Helena, Calif.

"We are excited to see the contributions they will make to the team," said Wendry. "They join our talented recruited freshman class and I look forward to working with them this season."

Of the eight recruited freshmen, five come from within state borders, while one is from New York, one from Rhode Island and one from the United Kingdom. Freshman Emily Strawbridge (Monmouthshire, UK) becomes the fourth rower on UConn's roster to hail from a foreign country.

Wendry's team currently consists of 14 seniors, 17 juniors, 22 sophomores and 15 freshmen - a good balance of 31 upperclassmen and 37 underclassmen. The walk-ons are made-up of seven freshmen, seven sophomores and three juniors.

Rowing welcomes the following newcomers to UConn: Grace Baldauf, Erica Bushey, Claire Callaghan, Sarah Ingram, Chloe Ludden, Cyanne Mitchell, Allison Murphy, Emily Strawbridge, Maria Bellos, Shivani Dave, Mel Edwards, Kelly Franklin, Emma Gehr, Sophia Hopwood, Marisa Karasik, Caitlin Keith, Holly King, Molly Malloy, Maggie Mlynek, Liv Palmer, Deb Rodican, Steph Rodrigue, Elizabeth Sklar, Meg Stevens and Nicole Wechsler.