Skip to main content Skip to footer
Tsantiris Honored With Gold Key Award

Oct. 25, 2017

UNIONVILLE, Conn. - Women's soccer head coach Len Tsantiris has been selected to receive the prestigious Gold Key Award by the Connecticut Sports Writers' Alliance, as announced by the organization on Tuesday.

Tsantiris will be honored with the rest of the 2018 class on Sunday, April 29, 2018 at the 77th annual Gold Key Dinner at the Aqua Turf Club in Southington, Conn. The Gold Key dinner recognizes the men and women who have made a significant contribution and/or have achieved excellence on the field of athletics as a player, coach or administrator. Past UConn recipients include Geno Auriemma (2001), Andy Baylock (1985), Jim Calhoun (2003), J.O. Christian (1959), Sumner Dole (1972), Hugh Geer (1955), Joe Morrone (1988), Larry Panciera (1980), Ray Reid (2014), Dee Rowe (1978) and Nancy Stevens (2013), John Toner (1983).

"I am honored and humbled to receive this honor from the Connecticut Sports Writers," said Tsantiris. "It has been a privilege to work at UConn the past 36 seasons and be able to work with the kids. That is what it is all about."

Tsantiris has been the helm for 37 years at UConn and has made it to the NCAA Tournament in 29 seasons. During his tenure, the program has reached the national championship game four times: 1984, 1990, 1997 and 2003. In 2012, he became just the second collegiate women's soccer coach to reach the 500-win mark.



Tickets to the Gold Key Dinner are $75 apiece, and may be reserved by contacting CSWA President Tim Jensen of Patch Media Corp. at or 860-394-5091, or Vice President Rich Gregory of the Danbury News-Times at or 203-705-8625.

Proceeds from the event benefit the Bo Kolinsky Journalism Scholarship, named after a longtime Hartford Courant sportswriter and past CSWA president who died unexpectedly in 2003.