Skip to main content Skip to footer
Huskies Bring Home Five Major Conference Awards

Nov. 1, 2016

PROVIDENCE, R.I. – After claiming the 2016 American Athletic Conference regular season title Sunday, the UConn women’s soccer team cleaned house when the league announced its regular season awards Tuesday. UConn took home five major conference awards and six Huskies were represented on All-Conference teams.

Senior Stephanie Ribeiro (Pawtucket, R.I.) was unanimously selected Offensive Player of the Year, which earned her a spot on the All-Conference First Team for the second straight year. Not only does Ribeiro currently lead the team with a career-best 49 points (19g, 11a), she also leads on the national stage, heading the country in total points (49) and game-winners (11) and is tied for first in total goals (19). Ribeiro was named Offensive Player of the Week four times this season. She has recorded five multi-goal games this season, four coming against conference opponents, and is just four points away from joining the UConn “100 Point Club.”  

Senior Toriana Patterson (Yorktown Heights, N.Y.) earned the title of Co-Defensive Player of the Year to claim First Team All-Conference honors for the first time in her career. Starting in all 19 matches for UConn, Patterson was a staple in the UConn defense which has posted nine shutouts this season. She was named the American Athletic Conference Defensive Player of the Week after helping UConn to back-to-back shutouts in 200 minutes of play on the road at SMU and Houston. Following that performance, Patterson scored her first career goal for the Huskies, the game-winning goal, on Oct. 13 in the 3-0 shutout against UCF.

Senior Rachel Hill (Rollinsford, N.H.) was deemed Co-Midfielder of the Year and was awarded a spot on First Team All-Conference for a fourth consecutive season. Earning the start in all 19 matches, Hill is second on the team with 31 points. She has spent this season climbing the ranks of the program record book. Her 13 goals this season put her second in program history with 58 career goals while her combined 31 points this year leave her fourth in overall career points with 133.



Senior goalkeeper Emily Armstrong (Collegeville, Pa.) was chosen as Goalkeeper of the Year for the second consecutive season and was the fourth player representing UConn on the All-Conference First Team. Starting in all 19 matches, Armstrong saw all 1730 minutes in net for the Huskies during the regular season, recording 84 saves for a .857 save percentage and a 0.73 goals against average. Armstrong anchored the back line of the UConn defense and pitched a career-best nine solo shutouts this season. She is currently second in the program record book for all-time career shutouts. Armstrong took home Goalkeeper of the Week accolades on three occasions this year and earned Academic All-District honors.

Head coach Len Tsantiris earned Coach of the Year honors for the second consecutive season after guiding the Huskies to their second consecutive regular season title. This year he was named Co-Coach of the Year along with Chris Petrucelli of SMU. Tsantiris, who is in his 36th season at UConn, celebrated his 550th career victory this year after the Huskies defeated Stony Brook 4-1 on Sept. 11. Tsantiris coached the women to a 16-2-1 overall record and a near perfect 8-0-1 record in American Athletic Conference play. This season’s 16-2-1 outcome puts Tsantiris’ overall coaching record at 560-191-56, giving him a .729 career win percentage.

Additionally, freshmen Alana Moore (Oakton, Va.) and Kristen Vinciguerra (Saddle River, N.J.) were named to the All-Rookie Team for their performances in 2016. Moore saw action in all 19 games and earned 16 starts in her inaugural season while Vinciguerra started in 16 of 18 appearances and had three points (1g, 1a) following the regular season.


The Huskies automatically advance to the American Athletic Conference semifinals on Friday, Nov. 4 at Joseph J. Morrone Stadium. They will face the winner of No. 5 Cincinnati and No. 4 USF, which will be decided on Wednesday, Nov. 2.


Offensive Player of the Year
Stephanie Ribeiro, UConn*

Defensive Player of the Year
Saga Fredriksson, UCF
Toriana Patterson, UConn

Midfielder of the Year
Rachel Hill, UConn
Rachel Thun, Tulsa

Goalkeeper of the Year
Emily Armstrong, UConn

Rookie of the Year
Evelyne Viens, USF

Coach of the Year
Len Tsantiris, UConn
Chris Petrucelli, SMU

Team Fair Play Award
(Determined by fewest accumulation of points)
Yellow card-5 pts.
Red card-10 pts.                     

(73 pts. in conference play)

First Team All-Conference
Carol Rodrigues, F, Sr., UCF
Vanessa Gilles, D, Jr, Cincinnati
Emily Armstrong, GK, Sr, UConn
Rachel Hill, MF, Sr, UConn
Toriana Patterson, D, RS-Sr., UConn
Stephanie Ribeiro, F, RS-Sr. UConn*
Marie Levasseur, F, So., Memphis
Valerie Sanderson, F, Sr., Memphis*
Evelyne Viens, F, Fr., USF
Allie Thornton, F, Fr., SMU
Rachel Thun, MF, Jr., Tulsa

Second Team All-Conference
Morgan Ferrara, F, Jr., UCF
Saga Fredriksson, D, Jr., UCF
Julie Gavorski, F, Jr., Cincinnati
Lana Spitler, F, Sr., East Carolina
Maryse Bard-Martel, GK, Sr., Memphis
Olivia Gauthier, D, So., Memphis
Jessica Lisi, MF, Fr., Memphis
Trudi Carter, F, Sr., USF
Andrea Hauksdottir, MF, Fr., USF
Jordyn Listro, D, Sr., USF
Taylor Barg, D, Sr., SMU
Claire Oates, MF, Jr., SMU
Tana Dake, MF, Jr., Tulsa

All-Rookie Team
Zandy Soree, MF, UCF
Bri Costigan, Cincinnati, D
Alana Moore, MF, UConn
Kristen Vinceguerra, D, UConn
Jayda Hylton-Pelaia, D, East Carolina
Serena Dolan, MF, Memphis
Jessica Lisi, MF, Memphis*
Andrea Hauksdottir, MF, USF
Evelyne Viens, F, USF*
Jessica Cooley, D, SMU
Allie Thornton, F, SMU
Anna Williams, F, Tulsa