Skip to main content Skip to footer
Four Huskies Take American All-Conference Women's Soccer Honors

Rachel Hill and Stephanie Ribeiro were both selected to the American All-Conference First Team.

Nov. 7, 2013

ORLANDO, Fla. – The American Athletic Conference recognized four members of the UConn women’s soccer team in all-league accolades announced Thursday evening at the conference semifinals in Orlando, FL. Rachel Hill (Rollinsford, N.H.) and Stephanie Ribeiro (Pawtucket, R.I.) earned spots on the All-Conference First Team while senior defender Devin Prendergast (Babylon, N.Y.) was named to the Second Team. Hill also headlined an All-Rookie squad that included Husky goalkeeper Emily Armstrong (Collegeville, Pa.).

Rachel Hill collects her first All-Conference nod after a sensational rookie campaign in which she led the squad in nearly every offensive category. On two occasions the freshman forward added player of the week honors to her growing résumé. On Sept. 2, the American tabbed her as the Rookie of the Week after scoring her first two collegiate and, coincidentally, game-winning goals in victories over Boston College and Central Connecticut. From there, Hill only continued her dominant play, racking up Offensive Player of the Week honors Sept. 30 immediately following her first career hat trick against Temple University. The first-year burst onto the college scene with stellar numbers, tallying 13 goals and five assists for 31 points. Hill, who started all 20 outings in her first season as a Husky, paced the team with four game-winning goals. 

Stephanie Ribeiro also takes home the first All-Conference honors of her career following a breakout sophomore season. The Pawtucket, R.I. native came alive immediately following the midpoint of the season, rattling off all of her 16 season points in the latter 12 games of UConn’s schedule. Three of her six goals proved to be game-winners, including a dramatic overtime marker against Cincinnati in the Huskies' penultimate regular season home match. The sophomore has accumulated 25 career points on nine goals and seven assists in two seasons of action with Connecticut.

Devin Prendergast earns her first conference honors after a solid defensive campaign on the pitch this season. A steady defender, Prendergast led a young squad as the only senior member of the backfield. Her experience and leadership helped the UConn defense limit opponent scoring for a 1.46 team goals against average on the season. The Babylon, N.Y. native has recorded six goals and one assist for 13 career points. The all-conference laurels are the first for Prendergast, though the NEWISA recognized her as an All-New England Second Team choice in 2011.

Redshirt freshman Emily Armstrong earned a spot on the All-Rookie Team following a six shutout season in the UConn cage. The netminder started all 20 games and turned aside 68 stops on the season to earn a .694 save percentage.  Though the Huskies significantly outshot their opponents 400-222, so while Armstrong was not always called on to make a great quantity of saves, she certainly delivered with quality. In UConn’s American quarterfinal match against USF, Armstrong came through with a sensational penalty kick save in the second half of play.

UConn currently awaits news of a possible bid the 64 team NCAA Tournament. The NCAA selection show will air at 4:30 on Nov. 11 after the conclusion of conference tournaments. Click here to view the broadcast schedule for all selection shows and be sure to log onto to watch the program live.

Complete List of Awards:

2013 American Athletic Conference Women’s Soccer Major Award Winners
Offensive Player of the Year
Christine Exeter, Louisville, Sr., F
Midfielder of the Year
*Charlyn Corral, Louisville, Sr., M
Defensive Player of the Year
Marissa Diggs, UCF, Sr., D
Goalkeeper of the Year
Cami Koski, Houston, Sr., GK
Rookie of the Year
Lena Petermann, UCF, Fr., F
Coach of the Year
Tiffany Roberts Sahaydak, UCF
Team Fair Play Award
University of Houston
2013 All-Conference Teams
First Team
Tatiana Coleman, UCF, Jr., F
Marissa Diggs, UCF, Sr., D
Lena Petermann, UCF, Fr., F
Rachel Hill, UConn, Fr., F
Stephanie Ribeiro, UConn, So., F
Cami Koski, Houston, Sr., GK
*Charlyn Corral, Louisville, Sr., M
Christine Exeter, Louisville, Sr., F
Kylie Davis, Memphis, Jr., M/F
Christabel Oduro, Memphis, Sr., F
Jonelle Filigno, Rutgers, R-Sr., F
Second Team^
Emily Elsbrock, Cincinnati, Sr., F
Jennifer Martin, UCF, Jr., M
Devin Prendergast, UConn, Sr., D
Erin Yenney, Louisville, Jr., M
Valerie Sanderson, Memphis, Fr., F
Diamond Simpson, Memphis, So., D
Stef Scholz, Rutgers, Jr., F
Madison Tiernan, Rutgers, Fr., M/F
Christiane Endler, USF, So., GK
Cristin Granados, USF, Jr., M
Demi Stokes, USF, Jr., D
Rikki Clarke, SMU, Jr., M
Shelby Redman, SMU, R-Jr., F
All-Rookie Team^
Katy Couperus, Cincinnati, Fr., F
Natalie Smith, Cincinnati, R-Fr., GK
Kayla Adamek, UCF, Fr., F
Caroline Bado, UCF, Fr., D
Lena Petermann, UCF, Fr., F
Emily Armstrong, UConn, R-Fr., GK
Rachel Hill, UConn, Fr., F
Valerie Sanderson, Memphis, Fr., F
Tori Prager, Rutgers, Fr., M
Madison Tiernan, Rutgers, Fr., M/F
Leticia Skeete, USF, Fr., D
Taylor Barg, SMU, Fr., M
* indicates a unanimous selection
^due to a tie in voting, extra members were added