Skip to main content Skip to footer
Women's Soccer Has Four Named To NEWISA Second Team

Jessica Dulski

Dec. 6, 2011

STORRS, Conn. - Four Huskies from the women's soccer program were selected to the 2011 NEWISA All-New England Second Team as announced on Tuesday. Senior goalie Jessica Dulski (Pittsford, N.Y.), redshirt junior forward Danielle Schulmann (Saddle River, N.J.), sophomore midfielder Devin Prendergast (Babylon, N.Y.) and freshman mid Riley Houle (Columbia, Conn.) all earned All-New England Second Team honors.

Dulski was a constant at the keeper position since her sophomore season as she concluded her days as a Husky with 254 saves in 59 games to tally a 1.11 career GAA.  Her 254 saves leaves her in the third overall seat for saves by UConn goalkeepers. In 2011, Dulski was 7-8-2 with a 1.26 GAA after tallying 82 saves, 22 goals allowed and five shutouts.

Schulmann had a stellar first eligible year with the Huskies leading the squad with seven goals and an assist for 15 points. She was also acknowledged by the BIG EAST being named to the All-BIG EAST Second Team.

Prendergast was the second leading scorer and a constant threat with her ability to score from long range for the Huskies with four goals and assist to total nine points.

Houle had a breakout freshman year for Connecticut having three goals and an assist. Her constant movement, ability to pressure the ball and push the ball up field to her teammates earned her recognition by the BIG EAST as she was named to the All-BIG EAST Third Team and All-BIG EAST Rookie Team.

The Huskies concluded the 2011 season with a 7-8-2 (4-2-2 BIG EAST) mark and will return Schulmann, Prendergast and Houle for the 2012 campaign.


2011 NEWISA All-New England for DIVISION I

First Team

GK       Erin Quinlan                           Hartford                               Sr(*)   

B          Alaina Beyer                          BC                                      Sr(*)

B          Allison Kagawa                       Brown                                  Sr

B          Jewel Robinson                       Central  Connecticut             So

B          Lindsey Kowal                         Harvard                               Sr

B          Meghan Collins                       UMASS                                Sr

M         Kristie Mewis                           BC                                      Jr(#)

M         Meredith Speck                        Yale                                    Fr

F          Vicki DiMartino                         BC                                      Jr(*)

F          Melanie Baskind                                 Harvard                                   Sr

F          Furtuna Velaj                          Quinnipiac                             Sr

F          Melissa Gavin                          Yale                                         Fr

Second Team


GK       MC Barrett                              Brown                                     So

GK       Jessica Dulski                         UCONN                                    Sr

GK       Emily Cota                              UMASS                                   Jr

B          Kelly Matthews                        Northeastern                           Sr

B          Shauna Edwards                     Quinnipiac                                Jr

M         Riley Houle                             UCONN                                    Fr

M         Devin Prendergrast                  UCONN                                    So

M         Caitlin Alves                            Hartford                                   Jr       

M         Peyton Johnson                       Harvard                                   So

F          Danielle Schulmann                UCONN                                      Jr

F          Amelia Pereira                         Hartford                                   Jr       

F          Julie Morrissey                          UMASS                                   Sr

F          Veronica Napoli                      Northeastern                              Sr


(*)-denotes leading vote-getter at that position

(#)-denotes leading overall vote getter for the Division