Skip to main content Skip to footer
Women's Swimming and Diving Falls to Dartmouth 154-146

UConn sophomore swimmer Laura Ruttan won the 200-yard breaststroke Saturday with a time of 2:24.74.

Feb. 1, 2014


STORRS, Conn. – The University of Connecticut women’s swimming and diving team fell to Dartmouth 154-146 Saturday afternoon on day one of Senior Weekend for the Huskies. With the loss, UConn drops to 3-2 on the year in head-to-head competitions.

The Huskies kept pace with Dartmouth for most of the meet, getting great swims from junior Chinyere Pigot (Miami, Fla.), and freshman Christine Pedersen (Vinterbro, Norway). Pigot won the 50-yard freestyle after swimming the race in 23.77, and in the 100-yard freestyle she earned first place honors with a time of 51.55.

Pedersen also won two races Saturday, swimming the 100-yard backstroke in 57.67 to capture first and she followed that up with a first place finish in the 200-yard backstroke, which she completed in a time of 2:05.49.

Other notable results came from sophomores Laura Hyland (Southport, England), who finished second in both the 100-yard breaststroke (1:08.67) and the 200-yard breaststroke (2:24.80) and Laura Ruttan (Stittsville, Ontario), who won the 200-yard breaststroke with a time of 2:24.74.

“For the women it was a very close meet with it coming down to the last relay though it was just not enough to pull out the win,” UConn swimming coach Bob Goldberg said. “It was a breakthrough for Ruttan and Hyland in the breaststroke events, as each swimmer got back into racing form.”



On the diving side, Taryn Urbanus (Quincy, Mass.) and Alexandra Butera (Havertown, Pa.) finished 1-2 in the both diving events. Urbanus scored a 291.67 to win the 1-meter, while Butera finished second with a score of 264.52. In the 3-meter, Urbanus earned first place honors, accumulating 273.98 points and Butera finished just behind her after scoring 262.72 points.

The Huskies return to the pool tomorrow when they face Colgate. Eight seniors will be honored before the meet, which is set to start at 12 p.m. in the Wolff-Zackin Natatorium.