Skip to main content Skip to footer
Eight UConn Women Receive All-Conference Honors

Taryn Urbanus was one of eight Huskies named to the All-Conference Team on Friday.
Feb. 26, 2016

PROVIDENCE, R.I. – Eight members of the University of Connecticut women’s swimming and diving team have earned All-American Athletic Conference honors, as announced by the league on Friday. The Huskies finished competition at the conference championship on Saturday, placing sixth out of six teams.

UConn senior Taryn Urbanus (Quincy, Mass.) was one of two Husky divers to be named to the All-Conference Team, as she earned the accolade for the third-straight season. The Connecticut standout tallied two second-place finishes after notching 326.20 points on the three-meter and a score of 287.40 in the one-meter.

Five Connecticut juniors, Alexandra Butera (Havertown, Pa.), Jaimie Lynn Brookover (Cherry Hill, N.J.), Margot Manning (Frederick, Md.), Sophie Nothnagle (Victor, N.Y.) and Christine Pedersen (Vinterbro, Norway) made the All-Conference squad.  

Butera earned the nod by coming in third on the one-meter board after totaling 287.30 points. Brookover took home a silver medal for her performance in the 100-backstroke (54.87) while Pedersen finished third in the 200-backstroke with a time of 1:58.72.

Rookies Annika Grewal (Oakville, Ontario) and Jackie Van Lew (Tinton Falls, N.J.) joined Manning and Nothnagle for the 800-freestyle relay, which claimed third-place (7:19.32). Grewal was sensational in the 200-backstroke, placing second with a time of 1:57.32, setting a new school record in the process.



Diving coach John Bransfield was named the Women’s Co-Diving Coach of the Year along with Houston’s Bob Gunter.

UConn returns to action with the NCAA Zone Diving Championships on Mar. 7-9. The NCAA Swimming Championships will take place on Mar. 17-19.