Skip to main content Skip to footer
Five UConn Teams Earn NCAA Academic Recognition Award

May 3, 2017

The University of Connecticut men's basketball, field hockey, men's tennis, women's tennis and men's golf team were honored on Wednesday with NCAA Public Recognition Awards for outstanding academic performance.

Teams are recognized by the NCAA for posting Academic Progress Rate scores that are in the top 10 percent of their individual sport. The APR is an annual scorecard of academic achievement calculated for all Division I sports teams nationally. All Division I teams' APR scores will be released May 10.

The latest APR scores cover a four-year period from 2012-13 to 2015-16.

The five teams is the second-highest total for UConn in a single year and during this four-year measuring period the men's basketball team won a national championship and the field hockey team won two.

"I want to congratulate the student-athletes and coaching staffs of these five teams that have been recognized by the NCAA for being among the best in the country," said UConn Director of Athletics David Benedict. "We have shown here at UConn that you can compete athletically at the very highest level, including winning national championships, and succeed academically.

"I would like to also thank the staff of our Student-Athlete Success Program for their outstanding work with student-athletes from all 24 of our sports. Their dedication and caring are of great assistance in helping our young men and women enjoy academic success."



The honor is the first for the UConn men's basketball team and head coach Kevin Ollie and covers a time in which the Huskies won a national championship (2014) and advanced to the second round of the NCAA tournament (2016).

"The honor of our men's basketball program is particularly significant," said Benedict. "Coach Ollie and his staff have built a culture in which academic success is a priority and an expectation of student-athletes in that program. This award marks a milestone in the history of our program."

The Husky field hockey team and head coach Nancy Stevens have been honored six times in program history and for four consecutive years. The field hockey team won the national championship in 2013 and 2014 and played in the NCAA tournament all four years of the current APR time period.

The UConn women's tennis program has been honored nine times in program history and also nine consecutive times, while the men's tennis program was recognized for the fourth time and third consecutive. The women's team is under the direction of head coach Glenn Marshall and the men are coached by Michael Louis.

The UConn golf team, under the direction of head coach Dave Pezzino, has been honored all 12 years that the APR program has existed.