Skip to main content Skip to footer
UConn Tennis Earns ITA Academic Honors

Aug. 2, 2016

2016 ITA Academic Awards

The UConn men’s and women’s tennis programs have been recognized by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association as 2016 All-Academic teams for achieving a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or above. In addition, six student-athletes garnered ITA Scholar-Athlete honors for achieving a grade point average of 3.50 or higher for the academic year.

“I am very proud of both the Men's and Women's programs for being named ITA All-Academic teams,” stated Director of Tennis Glenn Marshall.  “It truly shows the players commitment to excellence in the classroom, while balancing the rigors of Division I athletics.  All of our coaches stress the importance of time management and organization skills to our players, and this recognition shows how well they have succeeded.”

For the women, rising juniors Shea Flanagan (Overland Park, Kans.) and Summer Walker (Marietta, Ga.) and rising sophomore Gillian Perrotta (Scarsdale, N.Y.) were named ITA Scholar-Athletes.  For Flanagan, it is her second-straight season earning academic accolades.  Walker and Perrotta both earn the honor for the first time.

For the UConn men, graduates Jacob Spreyer (Denver, Colo.) and Andrew Ginzberg (Woodbridge, Conn.) and rising senior Parker Goldstein (Marietta, Ga.) were awarded ITA Scholar-Athlete accolades.  Spreyer is a three-time honoree by the ITA.  Ginzberg also was named an ITA Scholar-Athlete in 2015.

The ITA All-Academic Team award is open to any ITA program that has a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or above (on a 4.00 scale). All varsity letter winners should be factored into the cumulative team GPA for the current academic year (including fall 2015 and spring 2016).



In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status a player must meet the following criteria: 1.) be a varsity letter winner, 2.) have a grade point average of at least 3.50 (on a 4.00 scale) for the current academic year, and 3.) have been enrolled at their present school for at least 2 semesters (including freshman through senior year).