Skip to main content Skip to footer
Strawberry and Thomas Earn All-Conference Honors

Erika Thomas finished her career with 405 blocks, which ranks fifth in UConn's all-time records.
Dec. 1, 2015

PROVIDENCE, R.I. – Senior captain Erika Thomas (Ocoee, Fla.) and junior outside hitter Jade Strawberry (Tallahassee, Fla.) have been named to the All-American Athletic Conference Second Team, as announced by the league on Tuesday morning.

In her final season as a Husky, Thomas appeared in 31 matches and made 28 starts. The middle blocker/right side hitter was third on the team with 231 kills and 80 blocks. She posted a season-high 16 kills against Tulsa on Oct. 9 and tallied seven blocks when UConn hosted Bryant on Sept. 4. For her career, Thomas has totaled 405 blocks, which ranks fifth among UConn’s all-time blocks leaders.

Strawberry had a breakout season for the Huskies, starting in all 31 matches and compiling a team-high 350 kills in 119 sets. She more than doubled her previous career output after entering the 2015 season with 307 kills in her first two seasons in Storrs. The Tallahassee native tallied a career-high 24 kills against East Carolina on Oct. 16 and posted a new personal best mark on Oct. 4 with 27 digs versus Memphis. Strawberry notched 12 double-doubles this season and double-digits kills in 17 contests. She had at least five kills in every appearance. Her 2.94 kills/set and 27 service aces topped the team.

It is the first career All-Conference laurels for both players under second-year head coach Kris Grunwald. UConn finished 16-15 in 2015, including a 10-10 conference mark in its third year as a member of The American.

2015 American Women's Volleyball Awards

Player of the Year

Avery Acker, S, SMU

Coach of the Year

Lisa Seifert, SMU

Freshman of the Year



Jordan Thompson, RS/OH, Cincinnati

Libero of the Year

Morgan Heise, L, SMU

Setter of the Year

Avery Acker, S, SMU

First-Team All-Conference

Jale Hervey, OH, UCF

Carly Nolan, OH, Cincinnati

Jordan Thompson, RS.OH, Cincinnati *

Brookah Palmer, OH, Houston *

Janelle Giordano, MB, SMU *

Morgan Heise, L, SMU *

Avery Acker, S, SMU *

Irem Asci, OH, Temple

Kirsten Overton, MB, Temple

Sandra Sydlik, S, Temple

Erica Bohannon, OH, Tulsa

Ashley Hooper, MB, Tulsa

* - Unanimous selection

Second-Team All-Conference

Abbie Fleener, OPP, UCF

Jade Strawberry, OH, UConn

Erika Thomas, MB/RSH, UConn

Olivia O’Dell, L, Houston

Dakota Hampton, OH, USF

Cailin Bula, OH, SMU

Abbey Bybel, OH, SMU

Izzy Rapacz, OH/RS, Temple