Skip to main content Skip to footer
WXC Makes History; Wins First League Title

Oct. 28, 2017

Final Results

Philadelphia, Pa. –
Freshman Brianna O’Brien was named the American Athletic Conference Freshman of the Year as she helped the UConn women’s cross country team capture the American Conference Cross Country Championship on Saturday afternoon.

J.J. Clark and his coaching staff were tabbed the conference Coaching Staff of the Year after guiding UConn to its first women’s cross country league championship in school history.

“The team had a super meet,” said Clark. “They executed a plan very well and stayed composed on a very tough course. Three runners in the top-5 is outstanding and five runners in the top-15 is fantastic. We were able to put six runners in front of SMU’s fifth runner to help us solidify a team win.”

The Huskies cruised to victory with 34 points and had five runners finish in the top-15 to earn All-Conference honors. UConn ran ahead of the pack with an average time of 21:18.9, over 20 seconds ahead of SMU, who finished second.

O’Brien was the first Husky to complete the 6k course and turned in a second-place overall finish with a time of 21:44.5. Classmate Mia Nahom (21:44.4) and junior Haley Hasty (21.51.5) joined O’Brien with a top-5 finish, as the duo placed third and fourth place, respectively.

“Congrats to Brianna on the most outstanding freshman of the year award. I am very proud of this team for winning the first XC conference title since I’ve been here and the first in team history.”

SMU’s Hannah Miller turned in the events best performance, completing the course in 21:18.9, while Tulane’s Lauren Bartels rounded out the top-5 finishers with a 21:54.1 performance.

Junior Courtney Akerley and sophomore Danielle Jordan crossed the finish line next for UConn who placed all five of its point scorers in the top-15. Akerley’s time of 22:03.3 earned her an 11th place finish, while Jordan’s time of 22:05.0 was good for a 14th overall.

“I am very proud of all nine members of this team. They all gave their best effort in a great team win.”

The Huskies look to carry their success into the NCAA Northeast Regional held in Buffalo, N.Y. on Saturday, November 11. UConn is ranked No.8 in the latest Northeast Regional Poll.

Team Results - Women         

  1. UConn (34)
  2. SMU (63)
  3. Temple (92)
  4. Tulsa (101)
  5. Tulane (146)
  6. Wichita State (173)*
  7. ECU (173)*
  8. Memphis (208)
  9. Cincinnati (209)
  10. Houston (245)
  11. UCF (321)
  12. USF (323)


All-Conference (Top 15 Finishers) - Women

  1. Hannah Miller, SMU
  2. Brianna O’Brien, UConn
  3. Mia Nahom, UConn
  4. Haley Hasty, UConn
  5. Lauren Bartels, Tulane
  6. Grace Sullivan, ECU
  7. Katie Leisher, Temple
  8. Tess Misgen, SMU
  9. Ashley Barnes, Tulsa
  10. Marlene Gomez-Islinger, SMU
  11. Courtney Akerley, UConn
  12. Arnica Zitting, Memphis
  13. Lucy Jones, Temple
  14. Danielle Jordan, UConn
  15. Madison Dunlap, Cincinnati


Coaching Staff of the Year - Women



Freshman of the Year – Women

Brianna O’Brien, UConn